Be a Beacon Awards


FMMA Be a Beacon Award

Every year the FMMA chooses two recipients of the FMMA Be a Beacon Award.

Award recipients, chosen by the FMMA Founders, are pioneers who have gone above and beyond in their support and promotion of the free market movement and the Free Market Medical Association.

2017 Be a Beacon Award Winners

Dr. Lee Gross is a Direct Primary Care physician who has gone far beyond just providing affordable, high-quality medical care, and is now leading the fight to put physicians back in the driver’s seat while promoting transparency and the free market. Dr. Keith Smith describes him as “one of the most courageous and disruptive individuals in the free market movement.”

Not only did Dr. Gross create one of the most successful DPC practices in the country, but he is also frequently asked to speak on these issues in Washington, at leadership conferences, public policy events, and on national and local TV and radio. A few years ago, he co-founded the Docs4Patient Care Foundation, whose goal is to “Preserve the sanctity of the physician-patient relationship, promote quality care, supports affordable access to care for all Americans and to protect the patient’s personal health care decisions.”

This free market and physician leader compellingly writes: “It is time for all practicing doctors, those that look into the eyes of a dying patient, that hold the hand of a newborn infant… to lead the conversation…For the sake of those who matter most, our patients, physicians must take the lead in moving control of medicine back to the doctor and the patient so that they may have freedom in their healthcare decisions.”

Patrick Kelley, M.D. & Sean Kelley

Texas Free Market Surgery

Dr. Patrick Kelley and Sean Kelley not only created a thriving, free-market surgery center but also invented a cloud-based solution cost calculator that helps providers understand what their actual cost is for delivering care. The unique combination of Mr. Kelley’s business experience, along with Dr. Kelley’s extraordinary record of successful patient care, allows them to truly understand how to structure a low cost, high quality, patient-centered, business.

These two brothers took on one of the least free-market friendly areas of the country and created a growing, successful insurance-free surgery practice, aptly named Texas Free Market Surgery.  They started and sustained a thriving FMMA local chapter, and have built the beginnings of a medical market in their community.

According to Dr. Garrett of Austin: “Sean and Patrick are pioneers in bringing market principles to bear for surgeries in Texas. They are already disrupting the dysfunctional status quo and doing it with a smile on their faces. I’m proud to have them as colleagues in the uphill battle of transforming healthcare from the ground up, rather than waiting for a top-down solution from Washington.”


2019 Be a Beacon Winners

The 2019 Be a Beacon Award winners will be announced at the 2019 FMMA Annual Conference on April 13th.